Right to Rest Act Has a Date!! March 14th. Call to Action!!

Right to Rest Act Has a Date!! March 14th. Call to Action!!

HB 18-1067, The Colorado Right to Rest Act has been introduced and has been scheduled for its first hearing in House Local Government Committee on Wednesday March 14th at 1:30pm in room 271, on the Second floor of the State Capitol. We need you all to speak up!!

Colorado state legislators Salazar and Melton are sponsoring HB 18-1067 The Colorado Right to Rest Act – for the fourth year. The Right to Rest Act is stronger, clearer, and more powerful! If HB 18-1067 passes this year – it will force the state of Colorado to abandon its practices of criminalizing homeless people for engaging in basic life-sustaining activities like sitting, lying, sleeping, resting and eating in public. The criminalization of rest must end if we are ever to turn the tide on our homelessness crisis.

You can read the full bill language here and you can read the main talkingpoints here

TAKE ACTION!!

Follow these two easy steps.

1) Email and call the members of the Local Government Committee, and urge them to support HB 18-1067, the Colorado Right2Rest Act, and VOTE YES!

James Coleman james.coleman.house@state.co.us 303-866-2909 Democrat
Tony Exum tony.exum.house@state.co.us 303-866-3069 Democrat
Matt Gray matt@matthewgray.us 303-866-4667 Democrat
Steve Lebsock steve.lebsock.house@state.co.us 303-866-2931 Democrat
Larry Liston larry.liston.house@state.co.us 303-866-2937 Republican
Hugh McKean hugh.mckean.house@state.co.us 303-866-2947 Republican
Judy Reyher judy.reyher.house@state.co.us 303-866-2905 Republican
Kim Ransom kim.ransom.house@state.co.us 303-866-2933 Republican
Paul Rosenthal paulrosenthal5280@gmail.com 303-866-2910 Democrat
Jonathan Singer jonathan.singer.house@state.co.us 303-866-2780 Democrat
Dan Thurlow danthurlow55@gmail.com 303-866-3068 Republican
Donald Valdez donald.valdez.house@state.co.us 303-866-2916 Democrat

James Wilson representativewilson@gmail.com 303-866-2747 Republican


Sample Script:

My name is ________ and I am calling to urge you to vote YES on the Right To Rest Act. You will be hearing HB 18-1067: Colorado Right To Rest Act in the Local Government Committee. This bill provides critical civil rights protections to ALL Coloradoans that every Coloradoan is able to meet the biological need of rest.

The practice of criminalizing poor and homeless people for engaging in basic life-sustaining activities like eating, sleeping, resting, and lying is unjust, cruel and entrenches people in homelessness. HB 18-1067 will enable homeless people to better access employment and apply for housing with time and energy that would otherwise be spent responding to police harassment, tickets, courts and jail time. This bill protects the health and safety of homeless people trying to survive without a home. Please vote YES on HB 18-1067: the Colorado Right To Rest Act!

2) SHOW UP at the hearing!!

Be part of the movement…BE THERE to continue the fight for our rights and survival.


Right to Rest Act HB 18-1067 Goes to Committee Hearing!

When: Wednesday March 14th 2018 1:30pm

Where: State Capitol Building (200 E Colfax Ave – Colfax and Lincoln)

Rally West Steps

Hearing Room 271

Denver, CO— On March 14th 2018, the Colorado State Legislative Local Government Committee is scheduled to hear the Right to Rest Act – HB 18-1067. This bill, sponsored by Representatives Salazar and Melton, would end the alarming trend of cities passing and enforcing laws that criminalize the basic civil rights of homeless individuals. The Right to Rest Act would, among other things, protect the rights of all people to move rest with cover from the weather, have privacy of one’s belonging, and eat in public space as well as protect their right to occupy a legally parked motor vehicle. This bill protects all people’s human right to survive in public space and not be pushed “away” to nowhere.

This bill comes as housing prices are at an all time high in Denver and across the nation and government assistance for low-income housing has massively decreased. We cannot afford homes yet are criminalized for living homeless.

The Right to Rest Act (HB 18-1067) protects the following rights:

  • Right to rest or sleep in a public space.
  • Right to rest in public spaces and protect oneself from the elements in a non-obstructive manner.
  • Right to reasonable expectation of privacy of your property in public space.
  • Right to occupy a legally parked vehicle.
  • Right to share food and eat in public.

Come to the rally March 14th 2018 at 12:30pm in front of the Capitol, hearing at 1:30pm in room 271. Homelessness cannot be swept “away.”

Onward,
The Colorado Homeless Bill of Rights Organizing Team

Contact:
Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s